The Ukulelen book. 2nd Level - Andreas David

As a multi-instrumentalist (5-string banjo, guitar, mandolin, dobro, lap/pedal steel guitar), Andreas David is a sought-after sideman (Andreas-von-Haselberg-Band, Hot String Quintet, Geschwister Pfister, Maren Kroyman, Wiglaf Droste, and in the bands ‘Country Classic Circus’ and Larry Schuba’s ‘Sweet Temptation’ among others) and has been a studio musician for countless recordings for film soundtracks, advertising jingles and CD productions for other artists. He has also composed film music for ‘Lila Lila’ and ‘Penguins’, theatre music for ‘der Löwe, der nicht schreiben konnte’ and the music for the children’s book ‘Charlie steckt fest’.

When it comes to the ukulele, Andreas David has travelled all over the world: as a soloist, with Torsten Puls on the bass or with his trio ‘Lucky Leles’. He never fails to amaze audiences time after time with his professional appearances, top arrangements and virtuosity with high-quality musical performances. In addition, he has played for KALA at the Music Trade Show in Frankfurt, as well as at the NAMM (National Association of Music Merchants) trade show. He has also given guest performances at festivals from small German towns, all the way to Hawaii. He delights people with his ‘Uke Academy’ workshops all over Europe (at the Med Music School in Toscana, among others).

In 2011, his ukulele teaching DVD came out, which appears as a book, ‘The Ukulelen book’ (AMA No 610268).

For this continuation book, “The Ukulele Book. 2nd Level“, players should already know and be able to play the first chords (C, F, G7, Am, Dm, Em). This book continues straight away with new chords: A, F #m, D and E7 will be introduced and practiced. Even the first Barrett chord in Bb major will be introduced. In order to make accompaniment and playing more interesting, pupils will learn the following techniques: muting the strings, the Carter strum, the G run, hammer-on and natural flageolet. With all of these new skills, pupils will be able to play songs in the style of “Ben E. King – Stand by me“, “George Ezra – Budapest“ or “Jason Mraz – I’m yours“.

As in the first volume, all exercises are recorded onto the CD at two different tempos, and on the DVD you will be able to see all the chord changes, playing techniques and fingerings you have covered. Also here, photos make clear the difference between the right and wrong fingering, positions and ways of playing.

< |    2 Articles in this categorie

Das Ukulelenbuch. 2nd Level - Andreas David

Als Multiinstrumentalist (5-string Banjo, Gitarre, Mandoline, Dobro, Lap/Pedal Steel Guitar) ist Andreas David ein gefragter Sideman (u. a. Andreas-von-Haselberg-Band, Hot String Quintet, Geschwister Pfister, Maren Kroyman, Wiglaf Droste, in den Bands „Country Classic Circus“ und „Sweet Temptation“ von Larry Schuba) und als Studiomusiker auf unzähligen Aufnahmen für Filmsoundtracks, Werbejingles und CD-Produktionen anderer Künstler zu hören. Er komponierte aber auch die Filmmusik zu „Lila Lila“ und „Penguins“, die Theatermusik zu „Der Löwe, der nicht schreiben konnte“ und Musik zum Kinderbuch „Charlie steckt fest“.

In Sachen Ukulele ist Andreas David weltweit unterwegs: als Solist, mit Torsten Puls am Bass oder mit seinem Trio „Lucky Leles“. Dabei fasziniert er das Publikum immer wieder aufs Neue mit seinem professionellen Auftreten, Top-Arrangements und Virtuosität mit hochwertigen musikalischen Darbietungen. Außerdem spielte er für KALA auf der Musikmesse Frankfurt sowie auf der NAMM und gastiert auf Festivals von Groß-Umstadt bis Hawaii. Mit seinem Konzept der „Uke Academy“ begeistert er bei Workshops das Publikum in ganz Europa (u. a. bei der Med Music School in der Toskana).
2011 erschien eine Ukulelen-Lehr-DVD von ihm, die auch in Buchform als „Das Ukulelenbuch“ (AMA Nr. 610268) vorliegt.

Für den Fortsetzungsband „Das Ukulelenbuch. 2nd Level“ sollten die Spieler die ersten Akkorde (C, F, G7, Am, Dm, Em) kennen und greifen können. Denn in diesem Band geht es direkt mit neuen Akkorden weiter: A, F #m, D und E7 werden vorgestellt und eingeübt. Auch wird der erste Barrett-Akkord in Bb-Dur eingeführt. Um das Begleiten und Spielen interessanter zu gestalten, lernt der Schüler folgende Techniken: das Dämpfen der Saiten, den Carter-Strum, den G-Run, Hammer-on oder das natürliche Flageolett. Mit all diesen neuen Fertigkeiten können die Schüler folgende Lieder im Stil von „Ben E. King – Stand by me“, „George Ezra – Budapest“ oder „Jason Mraz – I`m yours“ spielen. Wie schon im ersten Band sind auf der CD alle Übungen in zwei unterschiedlichen Tempi eingespielt und auf der DVD gibt es die angesprochenen Techniken zu sehen. Auch hier verdeutlichen zusätzliche Fotos noch die Unterschiede zwischen falscher und richtiger Griffweise, Haltung und Spielweisen.

< |    2 Artikel in dieser Kategorie